More often than not, parents and staff are confused about the Governance of St Benedict's. In South Africa, the governance of Independent Schools is not governed by the South African Schools Act of 1996 - but is rather regulated by the Companies Act, other statues, common law and the New Companies Act which came into effect on 1 July 2010. It is, therefore, quite erroneous to compare the governance of St Benedict's to the policies and procedures which are in place at state schools. St Benedict's is owned by the St Benedict's Trust which is chaired by the Oblate Provincial - Fr Ronald Cairns. The following are the additional Trustees: Fr T Bailey Fr Joe Leathem Fr V Marole Mr K R Lydall Mr B Sutcliffe The immovable property on which St Benedict's operates, including all the buildings and improvements thereon, vest in the Trust. The Trust grants permission to St Benedict's the right to use that property on condition that St Benedict's operates a Catholic school to the satisfaction of the Trust. In accordance with this requirement, the Trust delegates the governance of St Benedict's to a Board of Governors; and the managerial functioning of the school to a Headmaster and the Executive Management of the School.